by Ydfyce
We were playing and someone had this captain and the question came up, when does this captain have to claim a particular discarded card?A) Immediately after the card(s) is(are) discarded, and never again after that;
Or
B) he can pick up any discarded card at any time during the game after another player discards the card?
I think A) has to be right, otherwise the player effectively gets all the discarded cards in his hand. If the discarded cards are always available for him to retrieve from the discard pile, once he uses a card (to bring him down from four, he can immediately get any discarded card in his hand). Put another way, he would be able to decline a card a player discards at one point in the game (because he can't use it, say), but pick it up at the point when he can play it to his advantage.
But the language of the game under specifies this, both in the FAQ and on the captain card. And nothing indicates that B) is an inappropriate interpretation. Thoughts?