Quantcast
Channel: Merchants & Marauders | Rules | BoardGameGeek
Viewing all 369 articles
Browse latest View live

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: "Port action" vs "moving to port"?

$
0
0

by JJJBonez

Does moving from a sea zone to a port cost 1 action? Then taking a "port action" cost another action? In this case, the player would have used 2 of their 3 actions this turn? Or is the "port action" included in your spent action moving to port from the sea zone??

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: "Forbidden Date" Mission Card Question

$
0
0

by ZeroZilla

For clarity, the text of the card is as follows:

Forbidden Date wrote:

The governor's annoying wife, Christine la Croix, is having an affair. She is with her lover on board the first merchant you find. Perform a successful Merchant Raid on that merchant to complete the job.
You get no Bounty Token, nor a Glory Point for a 12+ plunder.

Obviously, my question is about the second half of the card's text; the bit to do with getting "no Bounty Tokens, nor a Glory Point for a 12+ plunder."

We take this to mean (which seem the obvious choices, but the sentence structure allows for alternative interpretations) that,
(1) so long as the Merchant Raid was successful (that is the merchant in question didn't escape) there would be no Bounty Token ascribed to the player initiating it. (So a merchant player could perform this governor-approved raid 'for free'.)

Also, (2) even if he/she was very successful (that is he plundered 12+ gold) there would still only be one point coming his way (the one for completing a Mission.)

However: Because the word "nor" in that sentence binds the two ideas (separated by a comma, which also indicates a connected thought) together in that "nor" literally means "and not" or "also not", it could be taken to mean that the initiating player ONLY avoids the bounty if he/she succeeds in getting 12+ gold out of the merchant in question.

Rephrased in that light, the sentence could read as follows:
"If you plunder 12+ gold, you get no Bounty Token, but also no Glory Point for plunder."

This all hinges on the ending phrase of the final sentence "for a 12+ plunder" and the fact that "nor" (plus the comma) attaches that idea to the opening phrase. If these ideas had been separated into TWO SENTENCES (i.e. "You get no Bounty Token. You get no Glory Point for a 12+ plunder.") there would be no question.

Does anybody play it that second way?
Have I lost my mind?



Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Starting a new Captain in a plagued port?

$
0
0

by Neophitz

My Captain was killed and I started my next turn with my new captain at my new home port which happened to be plaques. My question is. Can I perform a port action in my new home port that is plagued? Would I lose a crew?

Thank You,

Neophitz

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Pirate player defeats a NPC pirate

$
0
0

by BadMadDog

When that happens does the player receive a glory point and thus a glory card?

On page 12 rules read "you get a glory point and a glory card when ... Defeat a player or NPC" but nothing is mentioned if the player is a pirate or not, or the NPC is a pirate or not...

If this is true it's far better to attack the pirate sloop than it is to attack any Naval ship, they are much dificult to beat and the extra reward is nothing special, only some gold, and some cargo (if you still have your cargo hold intact).

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: A few questions after our first playthrough

$
0
0

by Eyedore

Hey guys, I have a couple of questions after our first play yesterday, it would be awesome to get some clarifications on them:

1. Unfortunately we have the Dutch edition (the English one is nowhere to be found here), an cause of the translation some card text is not clear anymore. Could you provide the English text on the captain card of Percival Whitewood?
And about the captain Thomas Nelson: can he also get the glory cards that are being used and thus afterwards removed, or only the glory cards that are removed but not being played?

2. What are all the complications of two nations at war? yesterday the only rule I could find was that you are on the hunt priority list of a nation if that nation is at war with you. But what about enter ports and doing the port action at such a nation? Yesterday we had one player that already was in a port of a nation she became at war with, and she wanted to do a port action. I was sure she couldn't but couldn't find it in the rules, so we let her do the port action.

3. On a recruit action, if you roll a succes on your leadership, you can recruit up to your ships crew, all for free? so if your crew is 3, but they all died during the last battle, you get all 3 for free with one roll of the dice? It seems alot that 1 dice roll means the difference between free or 6 gold.


I hope these questions are easily answered

Cheers, Alex

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: How do players acquire a man-o-war ship?

$
0
0

by DayZ113001

Is there a card one of the decks or do you get it from capturing a man o war from two nations at war

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Combat rules - clarification needed please!

$
0
0

by SteWorthington

Hello,

It seems we're the latest victims of the slightly confusing combat rules! We're just learning the game for the first time and have come across two rules which appear to conflict and I'm not sure what to do, and can't find anything that seems to bring clarity.

We're on our first naval combat of the game.

We've done our declaration and seamanship contest, and as it's the first round we're both shooting.

We each have 1 cannon and have both rolled 1 die accordingly to assign hit-locations and damage.

My opponent has rolled a 4, and I have rolled a skull & crossbones.

The rules state that we should "inflict the "number" hits first and then the [skull & crossbones] hits."

However, the rules also state at the end of this section that "Hits inflicted by two players the same round are inflicted simultaneously. A player therefore gets to inflict hits even if sunk, or if he/she loses any cannons."

My question is whether this simultaneous damage happens in our case, due to the former rule stating that number hits are inflicted first. I understand that if we'd both rolled numbers, the damage would be simultaneous, but just can't figure out how to read the rules on this particular scenario.

Does my cannon get destroyed by the "4" roll before I get to shoot back?

Some help would be greatly appreciated!

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Port

$
0
0

by dakjck

Am I correct that when you are in a port, you are safe from everybody, including NPC's, and no one can throw you out (other than possibly a plague card)? The faq saying:

Q: If a player’s ship is in port, is that ship considered to be in
the “sea zone”?
A: Yes. For the purpose of NPC movement, the ports and any
players there are considered to be in the Sea-Zone.


has caused me some confusion.arrrh

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Galleons

$
0
0

by dakjck

I see where M&M:Seas of Glory provide for reducing maneuverability to 1 and that the "Cutthroat" variant also provides for that. I certainly understand the reasoning that the change makes it more likely that NPC Merchants will get away and frigates will be more likely to defeat them due to the greater maneuverability of the frigate, but it has always been sort of an option. More of a try it and see how it affects your game.

Well, it has been a while now, but I have not seen any discussion of players who have tried it. Has anyone tried it? What were your impressions? Does it imbalance the game too much against Merchants?

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Won Shoot with 3 Skulls= Fire all Canons 3 times?

$
0
0

by Dr DISCO

Both players are declaring shoot and roll their seamanship.
Player 1 rolls 3 skulls.
Player 2 rolls 0 skulls.
The rule book states the the winner of the seamanship roll gets to fire all canons. Player 1 has 5 cannons. Does player 1 apply 5 hits to a section once, or 3 times?

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Question about how extra hits transfer to Hull damage.

$
0
0

by Dr DISCO

Player 1 has 2 crew.
Player 2 hits Player 1's crew with 4 hits.

Does 2 hits go to crew and then 2 hits go to hull?

OR does 2 hits go to the crew and that's it, but any hits to the crew next roll (AFTER the crew is destroyed) go to the Hull?

From what I read in the rule book, it's unclear, unless it states it somewhere else again from where I found it.

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Questions about Failing To Find a Rumor

$
0
0

by Dr DISCO

If you take a Port action, and choose to search for a rumor and fail the roll, can you immediately try again? Or do you have to wait till next turn?

Also, if you fail the roll to find a rumor, do you still have to pay the 2 gold?

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: PORT: Buy first, then sell?

$
0
0

by Dr DISCO

Can you buy before selling while taking a port action?
There isn't any type of order to follow while taking a port action is there?

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Duplicate Glory Card Specialist

$
0
0

by mrmer1in

What happens if I pick up a duplicate Specialist when picking a Glory card?

Rules don't allow for a player to hire two specialists of the same type.

Is there a rule that says we can put back in deck, shuffle, and redraw?

Seas of Glory allows for a favor to be used, however, this could happen after the favor was already used.

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Rule clarification regarding seamanship contest

$
0
0

by Frode789

So in terms of NPC/PVP combat, if none rolls a skull, you can't perform your desired action, right? Not flee, not shoot, not board? Even if you "win" by adding up the numbers of the other dies?

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Question about the "Extra Cannon Port" Ship Modification

$
0
0

by calidoggg

I just started playing this game and I came upon a confusion regarding this specific ship modification. Let's say I buy this ship mod for my sloop at some port. Let's say my sloop currently has a cannon count of 1. This would increase it to 2 (cube would be at 2). Now let's say I move out of port and conduct a mission raid, and let's say I draw two cannon hits and my raid fails.

My question: does my cannon count stay at 0 or does it always stay at a minimum of 1 since I always have the "Extra Cannon Port" ship mod? How does it get tracked?

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Using Woelf's Solo variant: Started with Captain Dominic and also drew a Basse-Tierre NPC!!

$
0
0

by calidoggg

In this scenario, when I move out of port, I'm forced to either engage or flee. RIght? And the NPC will never move out of the sea-zone since I am always highest on its hunt priority. Seems very unfair during turn 1! Are there any other options that I'm missing?

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: A Ship With A History vs NPC?

$
0
0

by mrmer1in

Can A Ship With A History Glory card be used when losing crew combat vs NPC?

Card says: If you lose Crew Combat and your ship is not claimed by the victorious player...

Players need to fight for the NPC, but cannot take my ship.

"player" on that card may ensinuate that it can only be used against Players and not NPC.

Non Player Captain is pretty clear though, it's not a player blush

Just checking, thanks. arrrh

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Rule clarification: claiming a win with stashed gold

$
0
0

by calidoggg

When claiming a win with stashed gold, do you beed to be in your home port to display your stash and officially claim them as glory points? Or can you be anywhere to claim it?

Thanks in advance.

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Play glory card

Viewing all 369 articles
Browse latest View live


<script src="https://jsc.adskeeper.com/r/s/rssing.com.1596347.js" async> </script>