Quantcast
Channel: Merchants & Marauders | Rules | BoardGameGeek
Viewing all 369 articles
Browse latest View live

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Controlling NPC Pirates

$
0
0

by thomasdc3po

When a player is trying to secure victory as an NPC pirate, is his goal to shoot the Player Captain, or to try and board in order to "plunder" the player's gold/cargo?

Why would a pirate want to just destroy a merchant ship without getting anything in return? I feel like the rule should be "If the non-pirate Player has Gold or Cargo, the NPC pirate will try to board when the right opportunity arises during battle, and if successful with crew combat, takes all cargo and gold away from the player. In this case, the Player captain would not die because the Pirates are not interested in killing unnecessarily, but instead want to plunder, but the Player Captain would be quite vulnerable without any crew. If the non-pirate player does not have Gold/Crew, then the NPC pirate tries to board, realizes there is nothing to plunder when successfully boarding, and then slays the Player Captain."

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Alexandre Villon in illegal ports

$
0
0

by tomfromparis

Hi all.

I played yet another game of awesome M&M yesterday and I ran into this situation:

I was playing Alexandre Villon and my friend was playing Cinco de Irapuato.

I had a couple of french bounties on the head but had to enter Tortuga due to an incoming hurricane. No problem for Villon there.
Now I thought I could as well try to go for the port actions first thing of the following turn.

After a little discussion about Villon's capacity, my friend and I agreed that if the influence roll wasn't a success, then it wasn't as if an action was taken, so 3 remained in case of failure.

Did we understood the capacity properly?

Cheers.

t.

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Newb questions

$
0
0

by theepum7

Hey guys,

Just got the game, played it once by myself and once with a friend, just want to clarify some things that popped up.

1) During crew combat, if your crew dies, your captain dies?

2) the pirate sloop, would it still actively hunt for a non-pirate player captain even if it is horribly outmatched, say pirate sloop vs modded player galleon? wouldn't that be a free glory point for the player captain by defeating an npc?

3) npc pirate ships... unless i'm missing something, they dont seem to be worth the effort/money in repairs by going after them. sloop and frigate only worth 5/15 and a gp? in comparison a merchant ship still gets you gold/cargo and a gp if over 12 gold...

4) wanting to make sure i understand merchant raids... draw 3 cargo, if 4/4/4 come up, and 1 flee, 1 cannon, 1 mast come up and nothing is completely destroyed to 0, it is not necessary to roll... seamanship is it? to change/discard/add a card? you would then apply the 2 hits, take the 12 gold, the cargo that you can carry, and the gp and move on with applied bounty?

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Player Hunt Priority in port??

$
0
0

by Nvenom

We played our first game a couple days ago and really enjoyed it but with two rule issues.

1. Can you be #1 in hunt priority if ported?

2. Can NPC's stay in a location with a top hunt priority or must they move if an event card says to?

When we played my brother was ported in port royal with a pirate ship outside the port, he was of course #1 hunt priority with 24g on board. An event card was drawn and it was voted that the pirate ship stays outside the port in a sort of "Blockade". My brother was of course furious because he believed that port would be a sort of safe haven and the pirates should have moved on when that event card was drawn.

I was just wondering what the rule is really supposed to be on that, Thanks

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: NPC Move behaviour Quesiton when two Nations at war and in the same spot

$
0
0

by Experiens

Hi, we had doubts when playing a four player game yesterday.
Hope someone can clear up.


Situation:
England/France are at War.

An english and a french ManoWar are in the Middle Sea Zone.

There is a BLUE ship SW of the Middle Sea Zone. Blue Ship has 1 bounty flag.


Yellow Ends his turn in the Middle Sea Zone, but as the to Nations are at war, the Man-o-War will not SEARCH for the YELLOW player. (as they thematically fight each other).


so far so good:


The BLUE Player now draws the next Event Card, which instructs the English Man-o-war to move EAST.

What happens:

a) English ship moves EAST
b) English ship moves SW hunting the BLUE Ship
c) ENglish ship stays put but still does not SEARCH for the YELLOW ship as he's still busy with the French Man-o-war
d) English ship stays put but searches the Yellow ship (as it's a new Event)


Thanks

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Definition of "crew"

$
0
0

by BT14

We're playing for the first time and having trouble defining what they mean by crew. We understand a ship can have a maximum amount of crew and the captain counts as one crew, but how do you keep track of how much crew is actually on the ship? Is this what we keep track of in the hit locations or do we move this according to how many crew we have? If the latter, do we only start with one crew at the start of the game even if our ship is capable of two?

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Confused about the difference between being "in port" and taking Port actions

$
0
0

by JWHarris

We've tried playing M&M a couple of times, but we're confused on one particular aspect of the rules. We've tried to make sense of it, and upon failing that tried house ruling it but haven't come up with a way to make the game play the way we think it's played. Obviously we misunderstand the rules, or missed something, somewhere, and so I'm posting here to see if anyone can clear this up for us.

The question is two parts:
1. When it comes to avoiding storms, it's good to be in port. Do you have to take a Port action in a space to be in port? Since you can only take one Port action a turn, this would mean, to avoid a storm, you would have to Port as the last thing you do, and forgo any further movement. Or does it cost a movement, or what? If you can't dip into port at the end of your turn "for free," it would seem that taking damage from storms would be very common. (Of course, you can't go into port if you're wanted by that port's nation, or if your nation is at war with that port's nation, barring card or specific port effects. That much is obvious.)

2. If you can go into port without taking a port action, at the end of your turn, that would seem to present issues with player captain attacks. Then there would seem to be no reason not to go into port at the end of every turn where you can, greatly limiting the ability of other players to attack your ship. Maybe that's as intended, but it seems like it would make PvP combat quite rare. (We know it doesn't have much effect on *NPC* combat; NPCs will still chase players and park outside of port even if they never go to sea, and will get an opportunity to scout when the player tries to leave.)

This issue is pretty much holding us up from trying the game again. What are we getting wrong, can anyone tell us?

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Question about getting glory point buy selling gold in demand and other questions.

$
0
0

by RainXy

1. The rule book said you get a glory point by selling 3 good in demand in a port. Do you have to sell all 3 goods in demand at one time? Do you have to sell all 3 goods in the same port

For example if I sell 2 goods in demand this turn, then next turn I port again and sell another 1 good. Do I get a glory point?

Example 2: if I sell 2 goods in demands in 1 port, then I travel to another port, and sell another good in demand. Do I get a glory point?

If the above 2 are true, it is very hard to track how many goods in demand you already sold


2. When event card says NPC ship actives and moves, what if the move direction is out of the game board. For example, the ship is already in the far east port, then the event card said NPC moves to the east. Where the NPC suppose to go.

3. If a NPC activates,can it move to the adjacent seazone if the player is in the adjacent port?
Also, scout a player's ship when the player's ship is in the port? For example, NPC is in the sea zone of San Juan, and the play is in the port of the San Juan, can it scout the player. and attack?

4. If a player is in a port, can another play also move to the same port?

Thanks in advance.

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Arms Smuggling Mission

$
0
0

by jeffy777

I have a question about the "Arms Smuggling" mission. Is it possible to do this mission if you have a Spanish bounty? At first glance, I wouldn't think so since it requires a port action and you can't enter the port because of the bounty... but then I saw the "Shipyard Bully" mission which has a requirement of "No Spanish Bounties", but there is no such requirement for "Arms Smuggling"...so I guess maybe part of the smuggling is that you also sneak into the port?

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: action order question

$
0
0

by caric

I know you can take any port action in any order, but can you take the main 3 actions in any order or do you have to do them in order?
Move,scout, port

So if I just start the game, for example, and I want to use my first action to port since I'm there already, can I then still move and then scout after?

thanks!

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Seamanship role in Successful Boarding

$
0
0

by kingmaker fan

Another look at the rules leads us to believe we have played Boarding very, very, wrong for a long time. Up until last night we have played that the player attempting to board was successful if they got a skull in their seamanship roll even if their opponent was shooting and won seamanship overall (more skulls then the player attempting to board). Last night as it was about to happen to me (I had Christian and he had lost is one crew in the initial cannon exchange) and I said that since I had won the seamanship roll the boarding was unsuccessful even though the NPC pirate sloop did have a single skull (I had at least two, I don't remember how many).

After much reading and re-reading of the rules it was decided I was correct and that we had played this wrong for a long time.

But I agreed to check in with BGG for a final ruling to use in the future.

I didn't even come close to winning but we would still like to know which way to play in the future.

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Recruit question...

$
0
0

by caric

If you succeed in a leadership roll, do you "fill" up your crew to 5, or just one box?

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Multiple NPCs in a sea zone question...

$
0
0

by caric

I know NPC pirates will not scout for players when a naval ship is in the same location but I don't see anything about naval ships scouting for player ships with bounties. So does this mean you can just move throughout that space while they ignore you?

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Port of Nassau?

$
0
0

by nikesq24

What does "the starting price to buy/sell goods is 2 gold" mean? That it costs you two gold for the ability to buy or sell in this port. Or something else. Could you give an example of this effect at Nassau?

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: NPC movement.

$
0
0

by Monk74


I want to make sure if I understand this correctly: A naval ship appears... then some event moves it... but at the end of the turn they ALWAYS return to their spawning sea zone (by the waay, at the end of WHOSE turn would that be??). This means that any given npc ship will ever venture further than a zone away from its starting place, making it way too easy to know which zones to avoid...

Oh, and a second thing: While I do see the advantages for each (merchant or marauder) with a flute or a sloop; I don't see why anyone would go for a Frigaate over a Galleon, they are worse in everything except manouverability, and even then you need the upgrade to have 2 more over the galleon to get the plus 1 to seamanship; aand even with that, given the values on te galleon... am I missing something there?

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Costs of transferring Ship Mods at St. John

$
0
0

by GeckoTH

Ran into a situation when upgrading my ship at St. John, and I was wondering if I played it correctly. My ship had the Extra Cannon Port Mod, and my Cannons were damaged by 1 point.
I was working off a couple of assumptions:

Assumption #1:
When selling (upgrading) my damaged ship at any normal port, I would get +1 Gold for the Cannon Port Mod, but -1 Gold for the damaged Cannon slot, so I would upgrade at the normal price.

Assumption #2:
When selling (upgrading) a fully repaired ship at St. John, and wanting to transfer the Cannon Port Mod to the new ship, I would NOT get the +1 Gold to selling my ship since I'm keeping the Mod, but would instead pay 1 extra Gold to transfer the Mod.


So, here's my math on my upgrade:
Cost of Frigate.........35
Value of Sloop..........-5
Damaged Cannons....1
Value of Mod..............0 (since I'm keeping it)
Mod Transfer Cost.....1

32 Gold for my new Frigate. Correct?

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: recruit in port question

$
0
0

by buseyhead

according to the rules: on successful roll, you "fill" up your crew. Does that mean you move the cube from lets say your current crew of one to five?

or do you roll for each crew member added?

thanks, lots going on with this game

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: When can Thomas Nelson collect the discarded card?

$
0
0

by Ydfyce

We were playing and someone had this captain and the question came up, when does this captain have to claim a particular discarded card?
A) Immediately after the card(s) is(are) discarded, and never again after that;
Or
B) he can pick up any discarded card at any time during the game after another player discards the card?

I think A) has to be right, otherwise the player effectively gets all the discarded cards in his hand. If the discarded cards are always available for him to retrieve from the discard pile, once he uses a card (to bring him down from four, he can immediately get any discarded card in his hand). Put another way, he would be able to decline a card a player discards at one point in the game (because he can't use it, say), but pick it up at the point when he can play it to his advantage.

But the language of the game under specifies this, both in the FAQ and on the captain card. And nothing indicates that B) is an inappropriate interpretation. Thoughts?

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Merchant Raid Unclear

$
0
0

by victor85111

In the rules book it states that if the merchant flee is equal to the amount of my maneuverability it gets away but im unclear in a situation like this for example ....

I have a galleon i scout a merchant ship i then proceed to draw 3 cargo cards it comes up as followed


Tobacco (flee). Silk (hull). Rum (flee)


And i roll three dice and get : skull , 3 , 2

Does this mean i take a hit to hull and the merchant gets away or can i use my succes to exchange the flee for another card ?? Can someone explain this situation ?

Situation #2

If i scout and find a merchant and draw

Rum (cannon) Tobacco (hull) Sugar (Flee)

And i roll : skull , skull , 2

Does this mean i get to exhange 2 cards that are shown or can i just exchange one i.e ( the rum ) and use the second success on the next card the rum will be exchanged with to remove that card i.e ( i use one of my success on rum and switch the rum for a new card and that gives me spice ( hull) and use my second success to remove the spice ) ?

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Keeping more than your cargo can hold... On ground ?

$
0
0

by djay1976

Some of our merchants players suggest that you can buy let say 7 cargo card's and then sell them back on another port action (on next turn) even if your boat can only carry 4 (on a flute). They suggest that if you are not leaving for a sea zone you can hold as many cargo as you like.


It doesnt seem right for me ! Is this legit ?
Viewing all 369 articles
Browse latest View live


<script src="https://jsc.adskeeper.com/r/s/rssing.com.1596347.js" async> </script>