Quantcast
Channel: Merchants & Marauders | Rules | BoardGameGeek
Viewing all 369 articles
Browse latest View live

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: NPC Movement - Actions - grappling hook

$
0
0

by Acetaia

Hi after some games there are some questions unanswered to me.

NPC Movement: Ship stays Nassau or San Juan, Card says South where does it go?

Actions: Romours in Seazones is it an action?


Grappling Hook: Can I choose a dice of mine and one of the opponent at the same time?


Thanks in advance


Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: What's your poison? Humiliation, Death, or Retirement?

$
0
0

by chiefsachem

Seems to me when you lose your ship to a boarding action, the winner takes everything and sends you to la la land. All you have is your identity and whatever gold you stashed in your home port.

What happens then? Do you automatically go back to your home port and pick up a free ship along with up to 10 Gold in your new possession?

How is that different from dying other than you still keep your original identity? I suppose one could retire, but all that would do is make you lose another turn after you randomly pick a new identity.

What's your poison? Humiliation, Death, or Retirement?

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Trading

$
0
0

by studenteternal

Hello, I searched but did not find this question asked before, apologies if I missed it.

Is there any rules, either in a FAQ, or from the designer, about player trades? Can I sell cargo to another player at sea? Could I blackmail a merchant (pay x gold or I will attack your ship) could I bribe off a pirate (i.e. you have enough cannon to sink me, but not enough crew to reliably take the ship, I will pay you X gold to choose escape instead)?

Thanks!

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: A couple of rules questions

$
0
0

by decatur

Hello everyone, thanks in advance for your help.

NPC spotting/scouting - If a player moves through an NPC sea zone on his turn does that trigger a scouting roll? To elaborate if I a merchant with no bounties move from territory A into territory B (which contains an NPC Pirate) and then to territory C. Do I trigger a scout in territory B before moving to territory C? The same goes for naval NPCs and players with bounties.

Rumors - on the player card it states that discovering rumors to be true grants a glory point and therefore a glory card. However some of the rumors make a mention of the glory point and others do not. My question is do all rumor cards grant a glory point or just specifically the ones that state so on the cards? I am inclined to believe whatever the cards say, however the majority of my opponents made the point that the rule book does not include the phrase "when applicable" when describing the glory points from rumors.

NPC movement - I understand that the event cards trigger the NPCs to move and I understand the selecting and alternate territory via clockwise rotation, however my question concerns NPC ships that are not activated by an event card but are in a territory containing another ship that meets its hunt criteria or is in a territory adjacent to a territory containing a player ship that meets hunt criteria. Do these NPC ships still take action even though they are not triggered by the event card?

Ship to Ship combat - My question is regarding the number of cannon shots fired when failing a the Seamanship comparison. A Galleon and a small pirate sloop are in combat. The captains both have a seamanship skill of 3 and therefore roll three dice. If the captain piloting the sloop wins the seamanship roll they fire their single cannon causing one damage regardless of the number of successes rolled. and the Galleon looks at the dice rolled on the seamanship contest to see how many successes there were to determine how many cannons fire and hit their target. Is this correct, and if so, if a large ship with many cannons loses the seamanship role they can never fire to their full potential of five cannons because none of the captains have a seamanship characteristic that high correct? In order to fire five cannons you must have won the seamanship contest and then you automatically hit. I'm assuming this makes it possible for a smaller ship to take down a larger in what would be potentially a very long combat.

Port action sequence – it is obvious that selling must be the first port action however after that it does not describe a proper sequence, does this mean that a player may go to the shipyard and if available purchase the cargo upgrade before purchasing cargo. It seems foolish not to check if you don’t already have that upgrade.

Death and Retirement - my understanding is you must start in a port, use your first action to “retire” and forfeit the remainder of that turn. The next turn you start of as if you had died. The rules mention that if you have a badly damaged ship and are broke then this is a sensible option. However I fail to see the benefit of it over attacking a NPC ship instead of retiring. If you win against the NPC hurray you get a glory point, if you lose, which is arguably likely since you were considering retiring what is lost is the same as what you would already loose by retiring. You are not able to stash gold when you retire because you must do it before any other action. I just fail to see the benefit of retiring instead of attacking a man’o war or frigate or Galleon with your damaged ship. Again if you lose the combat and die you don’t lose anything you wouldn’t have already. And as long as you’re not engaging another player nobody benefits from your demise either way.

Thanks again everyone, these are just the questions that I can remember off of the top of my head that my group came up with last night while playing for the first time.

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: A couple of questions while playing first game.

$
0
0

by quatsch

Good Evening.
Broke this out today and started playing and need a couple of questions answered.
1. Do you just roll one die to assign hit location?
2. I'm a mere Merchant minding my own business and suddenly find an NPC pirate ship. If I attack first and since Pirates don't issues Bounties, am I now a Pirate or do I keep my "non-pirate" status?
3. I upgraded my Sloop. I had to sell it for 5gp and I had 2 improvements on it. I would then sell it for 7gp, correct?
4. This actually happened, during combat, I rolled 2 skulls and a 1 on 3 dice for my Seamanship roll. The NPC also rolled 2 skulls and a 1 on 3 dice. Who wins?

Thanks!arrrh

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Combining "The Connoisseur" with in-demand goods sale?

$
0
0

by Invictus5000

Here's a situation, and just wanted to make sure I'm interpreting things correctly:

A player has accepted "The Connoisseur" mission, and has purchased two spices from Curacao. During a merchant raid, the player acquired on additional spice for a total of three spices. When the player arrived in Basse-Terre, spice was in demand, and the player sold all three spices.

So--though "The Connoisseur" clearly states the demand token does not affect sales to the Count--the third spice can be sold for 6 gold, presumably, making a total sale of 24 gold (9+9+6).

The real question: can the player also claim a victory point for selling three in-demand cargo? I'd say yes, since all three were in demand (though the demand for Curacao spice is a special kind of demand). Thoughts?

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: At War or NPC Movement first?

$
0
0

by PhilipChrs

I have 2 questions.

1. When the at war card is drawn, which step is performed first? Resolve At War or move NPC? I think its extremely unfair, if you playing as a merchant (non pirate life), and then suddenly out of nowhere, you are attacked by a man-o-war, because you are in a adjacent sea-zone?

2. If a NPC pirate is in an adjacent sea-zone also, who will the naval ship hunt for? It would make sense, that it would hunt the one with a bounty (npc pirate), but on page 13 it says only player captains?

Thanks for a great game.

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Escort Mission/Passing Actions Q. + 2 others

$
0
0

by dick_deck


Question 1:In the FAQ it mentions you can pass actions. Do these count as actions for escort quests?


Real life example: Player 2 is just about to reach Havana with the Royal Escort quest (could be wrong on the name here), and a plague card is drawn, barring him from Havana. Can he pass actions until the port is open, or does the mission fail when he passes, and he get s a bounty? (As this was our first game, we were lenient, and allowed passing actions to not equal using an action.)

Q2: Man o War. Can I board and capture these? Is this the only way to acquire one?

Q3: What prevents me from starting the game, stashing the 10g I start with, and retiring over and over again until we are out of captains, and I have hundreds of gold in my stash? (Besides a player reaching over and slapping me? I'm hoping for a rule citing, so I can sleep better at night laugh.)

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Does sequence of actions matter?

$
0
0

by briandquinn

When a player is using their 3 actions, does it matter which order those actions are taken? The are always listed in Move, Scout, Port order.

For example, if a player is in a port at the start of their turn can then:

- first Port action
- second Move action out of the port
- third Move action to a different Sea zone?

Or if you choose the Port action as your first of three actions, do you then have to skip your second + third actions?

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Glory Card timing

$
0
0

by Fivec

I find this passage in the rulebook confusing:

"Some cards are played during another players turn. If
you wish to play such a card then announce it when the
card says it must be played (without revealing the specific
card). Other players may now announce if they also wish
to play cards at this point. Players place their announced
cards in front of them. Resolve the cards in turn order,
starting with the current player. A player may decline
to play his announced card once it’s his turn, but must
reveal the card he intended to play."

Can someone provide an example where multiple players would want to announce the intention to play Glory Cards outside of combat? Also would playing Glory Cards in combat work the same way (cards are played face-down first, then the aggressor reveals his and the opponent can choose whether or not to play his card, but must reveal it)?

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Shipyard Bully mission

$
0
0

by jackman51

I am assuming that whomever takes this mission in Trinidad and succeeds with an influence roll thereby being kicked out of port with a Spanish bounty pays one gold for Ship Mods anywhere(?) or is this discount only good in Trinidad where you just acquired the bounty and thus can't even reenter said Trinidad in order to take advantage.

Further I am also assuming this discount only applies to the Captain who succeeds in the mission correct?

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Ship with a History Glory card

$
0
0

by jackman51

This card states that a losing crew combat captain can play this card prior to discarding his Glory cards and keep his ship in the same condition as when it was lost. Gold I can assume is lost as well as missions and rumors but what of ship mods and special weapons? Do they stay as well?

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Both ships sink each other with cannon fire

$
0
0

by dsrtlzrd32

I looked but have not been able to find an answer to this. Last night we were playing and I had a galleon. I got scouted by the pirate frigate and we went into combat. We both chose to shoot each other over and over until both our ships were on destroyed except one hull hitpoint and two cannons. The next round we both chose to shoot, we both got three successes on our three seamanship dice. So therefore it was a tie and we both shot two cannons. We both sunk each other with the hit locations.

I looked in the rules and on this forum but could only find how to resolve ties to crew combat but not ship combat. So we ended up settling it by me getting a glory point for sinking the pirate but no gold bonus or glory card because I was sunk also and had to start with a new captain.

Was that the proper action? And what about if it had been a player vs player battle? Both get glory points but start with new captains? Just wondering if you have had the same predicament.arrrh

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Captain Death Ship Combat

$
0
0

by huntercp

Is a captain automatically dead upon losing crew combat? There doesn't seem go be any reason they should unless the other captain takes their ship. Theccombat example at the rule book does not say Felipe is dead just that Frances won.

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Shipping Contractor Mission

$
0
0

by monchichi

We just finished playing a 4 player game and my amazing come from behind win has been called in to question. I am looking for clarification and vindication.

I had the Shipping Contractor card that clearly states that for EVERY wood you sell in Old Providence you get 3 extra gold and "complete" the mission. I was a pirate and had 3 wood on board. My captains home port was Old Providence. There was the British Naval ship in Old Providence. So for 3 turns in a row on my turn I just opted to only do a port action and simply sold one Wood each time. So over 3 turns I was able to get 3 Glory point and stash my gold each time.

I have been told in order to claim victory I need Christian to validate my victory. If I am validated I would like the bitter bunny to walk to plank.

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Question about a captain: Caspar De Rivera

$
0
0

by Manaroad

Does the power overwrite the hunt priorities?

As an example, after an event tells to move the Spanish ship. The Spanish naval ship is in a neighboring sea zone to a pirate player who has a bounty on him, can Caspar De Rivera move the naval ship away from the player? What if they are in the same sea zone, and the hunt priority would normally mean that the navel ship would not move at all?

Our group has been playing with Caspar having total control to move the Spanish naval ship in these cases, and I was wondering if that was the correct way.

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: "Joined Forces" Question

$
0
0

by BalrogJDK

Can a player try the Joined Forces mission multiple time until he succeeds?
In our game yesterday the NPC ship sank the NPC sloop then was reduced to 1 cannon and no crew by the players Frigate. The player attempted Boarding and the NPC chose flee and escaped. The player ported and repaired then tried again; this time taking the mast down with grape shot then boarding and winning the fight. Should he get the Glory Point for succeeding the mission the second time despite failing the first attempt?
Thanks

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Captain Death in PVP Ship Combat

$
0
0

by huntercp

Is a captain automatically dead upon losing crew combat? There doesn't seem go be any reason they should unless the other captain takes their ship. Theccombat example at the rule book does not say Felipe is dead just that Frances won.

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Does player captains also get a Man-o-War in case of war ??

$
0
0

by JonasBang

Just finished my 2nd game of this very cool pirate game, whats not to like, yarrr arrrh

Question:
In case of a "War & Peace" event it states that "Exchange the Frigates of these nations for Man-o-Wars". Does that also count for player captain frigates, or only for NPC frigates ??

And if it counts for player captains, is it optional or mandatory to exchange ??

Br,
Jonas

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Pirates in Petit Goave ?

$
0
0

by tomfromparis

Hi all.

Something happened last night for my second game and I'm not sure whether what I did was done according to the rules.

I was playing Caspar De Rivera and took a mission in Caracas: I was to take the spanish Queen's cousin to La Habana within 6 turns or fail the mission and get a spanish bounty.

At the beginning of the 2nd turn, as I was in Petit Goave waters a nasty hurricane occured.
With my 2 actions left I couldn't take the cousin to La Habana in due time anymore and took the bounty.

Since I believe the definition of "pirate" is when you have a bounty on your head, I thought I was considered one from that moment.

But I still decided to go to Petit-Goave port (to be able to take port actions) even if the area says "Pirates can't recruit/repair here".

I mean: I didn't plan to recruit or repair but only wanted to trade, so I assumed I was allowed to port in Petit Goave.

Was it ok?

Cheers.
Viewing all 369 articles
Browse latest View live


<script src="https://jsc.adskeeper.com/r/s/rssing.com.1596347.js" async> </script>