Quantcast
Channel: Merchants & Marauders | Rules | BoardGameGeek
Viewing all 369 articles
Browse latest View live

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: War in M&M

$
0
0

by rddfxx

The M&M rulebook ought to have a section that pulls together the effects of two nations currently in a state of war. There are bits here and there, but it is difficult to look up specific questions.

Here is a biggie from the FAQ, which would have helped in our game last night had we checked.

Q: “War & Peace”: If war begins and you are in an enemy port
would you be immediately kicked out at the start of your
turn or are you allowed to stay and do a port action?
A: You may stay and perform port activities. You just can’t
enter the ports.

So far I gather:
1. NPC Naval unit will hunt an enemy non-pirate as a priority.
2. Enemy ports are no entry
3. Per the FAQ, OK to execute "port" action if player is already in the "now enemy" port when the war is triggered.

What else?




Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Few questions again

$
0
0

by smurfORnot

Hi guys, it was ages since I managed to get my copy on table again. Good thing is I painted my ships so it looks much better, and my group liked it(although my gf feeled a bit bored with down time, but she won while everyone else had 2 and 0 pts, and we were wtf,lol).

Questions:

1.When you come in port, and buy, you can buy goods that are in demand in that port, right? And since you can have 6 cargo while in port, even if you are pirate in sloop with 2 cargo, when you come in port, and perhaps get lucky with draw, you can hold still 6 cards. You come in port, and have 2 goods that are there in demand, you don't sell, then you buy, draw 6 cards, and luckily you drew 2-3 goods that are in demand in this port, you buy them dirt cheap. Then wait, and in next turn sell all 5 goods for 30 gold?
My group felt this was kinda strange, there are this goods in demand, but they are selling them dirt cheap to you.

2.Rumors, you claim rumor, and the moment you resolve it, sucesfully, no matter the rumor, you get glory point, right? My gf was lucky, she had that spanish captain that has bonus for rumors, and claimed few of them really easily, since they were all grouped close. So not only did she got Money from rumors(10-15gold for some rumors= like 2 glory pts for Money + glory pts for solving rumors)

3. In combat, there was this strange situation. More or less I grasp now how it functions. But My friend declared bord, and I declared shoot, I shot down his masts I think, the ones that say that you can't choose bord, just shoot. Does he still take bord action, since he declared it before his masts were shoot, or would it be canceled, and we would move to next run, where he could only shoot? We played he still boards, and I was sunk since I had 0 crew. But now I think that his action might have been canceled?

Article 5

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: How do you distinguish that you're "In Port"?

$
0
0

by pinkfrankenstein

I believe I've scoured the rules but it doesn't seem to say what distinguishes being in port.

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: When buying a new ship, what all transfers over?

$
0
0

by Climber Rat

After scouring the forums and reviewing the original rules, I haven't really found a direct answer to this question.

When buying a new ship, what all transfers over?

1. Gold
2. Cargo Cards
3. Glory Cards
4. Rumor Card(s)
5. Mission Card
6. Special Weapons
7. Ship Modifications (St. John ONLY - for 1 Gold each)
8. Crew
9. Specialists

The rules on "Buy/Sell Ships" on page 8 only states that you bring your crew from your old ship. I suspect that it's also a combination of the "Plundering" and "Claiming Ships" rules on page 15.

I'll say "yes to everything. Am I missing something?

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: "Shipping Contractor" event card

$
0
0

by Climber Rat

This event has you buying "Wood" and returning to Old Providence. The text says:

"As long as you keep this mission, Old Providence will pay you an extra 3 Gold for "Wood". Every time you sell "Wood" here you may complete this mission."

Two questions:

1. Do I get an extra 3 Gold for each"Wood" I sell or an extra 3 Gold when I sell "Wood" in Old Providence (get the extra 3 Gold only once, no matter how many "Wood" I sell)?

Note: This effectively makes "Wood" always sell at "in demand" prices (but you don't get GP/GC for selling 3).

2. Do I get a Glory Point and Glory Card every time I complete the mission? In other words I can hang onto the mission, continue "complete" it and rack up GP/GCs?

Note: This seems way too powerful.

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: "Prisoner Transport" Mission

$
0
0

by Climber Rat

This mission has me picking up a prisoner, Irwin Edwards, in Port Royal and transporting him to Nassau. I have the option to "...free him just after leaving port and employ him as a Specialist." This option, however, gives me an English bounty, thereby making me a pirate. Unfortunately, there's a Spanish Frigate in the Port Royal sea-zone and my last action has me leaving port. So if I free him "just after leaving port", I get the English bounty. Then at the beginning of my next turn, the Spanish will automatically Scout for me (even if the Event Card does not show him moving).

So, if I decide to free him, must I decide "just after leaving port" or can I have every good intention of transporting him to Nassau, but then later change my mind (when I'm not near an NPC Naval Ship)?

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Can I sell twice in port? Do NPCs hunt non-player pirates?

$
0
0

by rally25rs

New to the game and was looking for a couple rule clarifications.

First, if I enter port, lets say I have 3 wood and 2 tobacco in my cargo hold, and the requested good is wood. I can of course sell the 3 wood for 18 coins. The question becomes, does the requested good flip right then after selling and before other port actions? If so, and the new requested item is tobacco, can I now additionally sell my 2 tobacco for 12 more coins?

Second, the NPC movement rules seem to state that NPCs move to adjacent "captains" but I didn't notice any mention of player vs NPC. If an NPC Dutch ship is adjacent to a NPC pirate and becomes active, will it move to the pirate (as a captain with a bounty)? If a NPC pirate is adjacent to a NPC Dutch ship, will it move to the Dutch ship (as a captain with no cargo)? If they do move to each other, it seems to cause an issue where if an NPC pirate and non-pirate get into the same space in a corner of the map, they just sit there the rest of the game (hunting each other) unless a player with bounty or cargo moves adjacent to them to distract them (as the player becomes a higher hunt priority for one of the NPCs).

Thanks for any info!

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Do you discard Glory cards once used or are they permanent?

$
0
0

by AndersonCouncil

Do you discard Glory cards once used or are they permanent?

It's not clear and some of them seem really powerful!

Thanks,

Andy

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Question on bounties

$
0
0

by Fraculator

I'm confused about how multiple bounties work. Do you only move the bounty flags up the track if you get one from a new country? If I have 1 French bounty and then attack an English ship, does the French bounty move up to 2 and the English bounty take the 1 place? Then, in this instance, what occurs if I attack another English ship? Do I add another English flag or put the English flag on top of the level 2 French one?

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Stashed Gold and end-game

$
0
0

by KingD21

I'm a bit confused regarding stashed gold (trying to learn all the ins and outs before my first play)

To my understanding:
- At home port, you can stash any amount of gold and all you have to do is announce you are putting coins in (you do NOT have to announce how much).
- You do NOT mark down on the glory point track if it's 10+ coins (therefore you are NOT awarded a glory card)
- Stash is secret to all, even the controller player - once it's in the chest, it's there forever and can't be seen until the end of the game


End game:
- I guess if all statements are true, end game can be declared when someone has 5 glory points on the Glory Track and at least 50 coins in the chest -- right?

If so, then I take it, it's legal to continue playing even if the player knows he is at 10 or more glory points. OR must the player announce he has 10-points as soon as he has it. I can see plenty of situation where, you'd want to hold off announcing the end game

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Questions on Manoeuvrability and Sinking/Defeating a ship

$
0
0

by LittleBlueCubes

How significant is manoeuvrability in this game? As far as I can see, a high manoeuvrability ensures that the merchant ships don't get away so easily and when fighting player ships or NPCs, for every two point difference in manoeuvrability, you get an additional seamanship die (dice). Am I getting it right? Is there anything that I missed out?

Second question. Am I right in my understanding that defeating a ship is crew going down to zero, and sinking a ship is hull going down to zero. Secondly, what is the difference in gameplay between defeating or sinking a ship - do you get glory points for both, do you get bounty for both, or any other difference.

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Pass

$
0
0

by XXX123XXX

Can one pass? Does "up to three actions" include "pass" or does one have to take three actions (i.e., "search", "move", "harbor")?

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Plundering cargo from a naval ship

$
0
0

by UAZ469

Ahoy!

As much as the detailed lecture of the board helped me solving most issues with the rules (THX 11-38 for that! laugh ), there's unfortunately one rule which is still unclear to me and haven't managed to find an answer for it here or in the FAQ.

It's on page 15 under "PLUNDERING NAVAL SHIPS":
-Randomly discard a Cargo Card for each hit the
Naval ship took to its cargo. The remaining goods
are yours to keep.


My questions:

1. Which cargo cards? Mine or those from the cargo deck?
2. If it's the latter, do I have to draw them first from the deck or the discarded ones?
3. How many cargo cards does it carry in the first place?


Many thanks in advance for your help.

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Newbie Cargo Question

$
0
0

by markgravitygood

Scenario:

In port (Basse-Terre) at start of turn.

Ship is a Sloop - Cargo rating = 2

Textiles are in demand in this Port

I draw 6 cargo cards, 2 are Textiles. I discard the 2 Textiles and redraw 2 cards, per the rules.

I now have 3 Cocoa, 1 Spice, 1 Tobacco, 1 Banana. This I call the "Cargo Market".

Q: I can purchase a maximum of 2 Cargo and place them into my Cargo hold on my Sloop, with it's Cargo rating of 2, correct?

Q2: If I do purchase 2 cargo, then when I leave port, I must discard all unpurchased cargo cards in my hand?

Q3: Essentially, my cargo rating is how much purchased cargo plus unpurchased cargo cards I can hold when leaving port?





Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Do I get a Glory point if my opponent flees?

$
0
0

by amajo

From the rulebook, "Winning the game" on page 3:
Glory Points are awarded to players every time they perform various acts of glory and infamy:
• Defeating a Player or NPC
(Defined as surviving and winning Naval or Crew Combat)
If you or your opponent chooses to flee, do any of you get a Glory point? Or "defeating" a player means exclusively either sinking his ship or winning in crew combat?

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Actions in a port.

$
0
0

by el_italiano

Hi, thanks for your help.
This is my question: in the manual it is written that I can do any action in the port. But How many times? Can I sell and buy goods and then sell again?

Thank you for your answer

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Port and Scout Question

$
0
0

by el_italiano

Hello I have 2 question,
if I am in a port, can an NPC ship or another player's ship scout me and start a battle?



And another question:
Can a player move to a port if it is already occupied by another player?

Thank you for your answer!!!

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: buy and sell in the same port....

$
0
0

by el_italiano


Hello,
can I sell and buy in a port in my turn and in the next turn sell and buy (with 3 card, not 6) again in the same port?

Thank you!!!!!

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Can you keep # of cargo cards given to you in a rumor if it is over your max?

$
0
0

by TomandJonna

I proved 'The Coward' rumor card (sea-zone) to be true, and it says, "He surrenders and offers you 5 gold and 4 cargo cards."

I had a max cargo capacity of 4 and I already had 3 cargo cards.

What do I do, exactly? Do I get to keep all the cards, putting me over my max, or do I just get to keep 1 card?
Viewing all 369 articles
Browse latest View live


<script src="https://jsc.adskeeper.com/r/s/rssing.com.1596347.js" async> </script>