Quantcast
Channel: Merchants & Marauders | Rules | BoardGameGeek
Viewing all 369 articles
Browse latest View live

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Mission - "Joined Forces"

$
0
0

by Randor20

This is the mission where you get to use the pirate sloop in a battle against a naval ship.

If the sloop is defeated by the naval ship the card says you "continue the battle using your own ship". So the naval ship keeps all damage done by the sloop. But from where do you continue the battle?

1) From the very start, so you can only use "shoot" in the first round of combat (own ship vs. naval ship)? (might be the case, since your own ship has not been in the battle until now, it has to use the "normal" way to enter the battle)

2) Or do you start in whatever phase you got to? So either the usual naval combat (where you can choose "shoot", "board" or "flee") - or in crew combat if the pirate sloop entered crew combat and was defeated in that phase? (could also be the case - then you truely "continue the battle")

3) Or do you start in naval combat, but can use all three options (even if the sloop was defeated in crew combat)? (I could also see this being the case - you would have to make a new boarding attemt, which could be good or bad depending on the situation)

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Is in a port same as sea zone for NYC scouting rules?

$
0
0

by ozjesting

As topic. I am currently in port at PortvRoyal, naval ships all around me. If they activate to move willntheybsteer into port royal waters and trap me in port? Or do they not see me there when checking hunt priority?

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: My ship was claimed. What happens to me?

$
0
0

by Rowsdower

I've lost combat against another player, and they decided to plunder me and claim my ship.

Under "Claiming Ships" the rulebook says that the winner may discard their ship and claim the one they fought. But what happens to the loser when their ship is claimed?

Is my captain dead? Do I continue with the same ship even though it was "claimed"? Do I get a new sloop or flute?

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Survivor Glory Card vs. Plundering

$
0
0

by Mulligans



Or maybe it's Survival ? The Glory card that lets you keep your Captain and a few other things when your Captain dies is the card in question.

Looked through all the rules and didn't see any thread titles for this...

I defeated my girlfriends (bigger) ship in crew combat, after riddling it with holes via cannon fire. She played the Survivor/Survival glory card.

My thinking here is that the card doesn't prevent the plundering of any relevant items. I'm guessing she keeps her Captain and anything that isn't plundered that is then saved by the card, and starts off with a new ship on her next turn.

Is that the case ?

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Two players boarding each other.

$
0
0

by Mojobacca

I wasn't sure how likely this was, until it happened. Player A in his sloop was doing quite well until he had a bad luck draw-Seamanship roll that cost him 2 masts. Player B, also in his sloop, was having an atrocious start and had no money and no successful merchant raids and decided that Player A got too close with his damaged ship and decided he could use the assets that Player A had... so he makes his move.

Successful scouting happens and combat commenced. After the first round of Shooting, they both declare they will board (both had a Leadership of 2 with the same crew, just that Player A figured it's cheaper to win B's ship if he wants to come at him.

Question is, since I can't find it in the rules or here, is there a need to roll a Seamanship contest for this or just go straight into Crew Combat?

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Rumor: The Pirate Stash

$
0
0

by Mojobacca

The rumor states:

A pirate might have stashed Gold at the tavern "La Espada Perdida" in Santo Domingo. Santo Domingo ("port" action") If Successful...

If you were to aquire the rumor while actually in Santo Domingo, do you need to do a new "port" action in order to claim the rumor or go ahead and immediately roll the Influence because you're already in a "port" action?

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Need help with Merchant Raids

$
0
0

by ecominguez

I read an read page 10, but I can not understand how this rule works.

Could someone explain it to me using an example? Please.

I am not great with English, so it can happen that I am missing something, that is why an example could work.

It says that after get a success against Seamanship of the captain, I can draw a new card and use it changing one of the three cards I took before, then it says that afer other success with the seamanship, i can do the same, or something else... How many times can/must I test against seamanship of my captain, I couldn't find that info, and what to do with the success, is confusing me too.

Hanks a lot.
Eduardo

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: NPC hunting priority

$
0
0

by Rianane

A question came up during our first session:

A player was Dutch with only a French bounty on his head. There was a Dutch Man-o-War in the adjacent sea zone. The Dutch were at war with the French.

According to our understanding of the rules, the Dutch Naval ship will still pursue the Dutch player with the French bounty. It seemed like there should be an exception but we couldn't find one. Did we play it right?

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Winning Conditions for stashed gold

$
0
0

by Atactoulis

Inside the rules booklet it says:
"Once a player reaches 10 Glory points (including the secret points for stashed Gold), he declares so and the game ends after everyone has had their turn."
My question: One player stashes gold. He/She declares to be the winner. Every player has one extra turn after the player's declaration, or the
remaining players til the round end?

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: NPC movement after peace card is drawn

$
0
0

by spitnl

Hi, I've got a question regarding the Navy ships' movement after ending a war

Example:
-The Spanish are at war with the English.
-Your nationality is English
-A Spanish Man-o-War is in an adjacent sea zone.

A new event card is drawn moving the Spanish Navy MoW(not in your direction) and ending the war.

My question is:
In which direction does the Spanish Navy ship move?
The way we have played it is that the Spanish MoW moves to your seazone, becomes a fregat and doesn't scout for you because while he was on his way the war has ended.

Have we been playing it correctly or should the Spanish ship have moved in the direction indicated by the event card?


Fred

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: NPC Captains not scouting for Pirates?

$
0
0

by jackman50

Anyone else think this is odd? NPC Man-o-Wars and Frigates will scout PC pirates all the time but Blackbeard--well he's an amateur! The designer says this is deliberate so as to avoid over complexity and over priortisement and to keep NPC focus on PC's but I see no real reason why NPC pirates shouldn't be added perhaps last to the priority list. Could in you player's opinion cause play balance concerns? Opinions?

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Glory Card: Escort

$
0
0

by Spottie

Howdy folx!

Sorry if this question came up already, I couldn't find it, though...

I have a question concerning the glory card "Escort" which states (translated, since I own the german version): When in player combat, pay 5 gold and move a NPC ship in your sea zone. The ship is fightin in your stead.(or something like this, please excuse the clumsy translation). The point is: What happens if the escort ship (with its captain) loses combat? Is the victorious player simply allowed to sink or take over the ship of the player of played the glory card? Does he have to fight this player's ship as well? Or does the other player's ship just escape?! Unfortunately, the card gives no instructions on what happens in case of the escort losing the battle.

Thanks in advance!

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Downsizing your ship for cash possible?

$
0
0

by jackman50

You must have a ship at all times is clearly stated in the rules but it seems you can sell your Frigate for example for a sloop. Why you say? Well here's a situation I'm doing right now---A player has 6 GP's and 36 gold on his Frigate (nothing stashed yet). If he moves to his home port can he sell the Frigate for 10 gold then buy a sloop for 5 gold and then take the 5 gold difference in cash which would then give him a total of 41 gold that he immediately stashes and thereby claims 4 more GP's and victory?

This question seems to boil down to a cash vs. credit only when selling--which is correct? If you do sell your previously purchased Frigate or Galleon would you actually lose a Glory Point?whistle

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: What options for a captain with a destroyed hit-location and no gold?

$
0
0

by Xelforp

A strange situation came up in a game I was playing in, as a captain spent all his money on upgrading from a sloop to a frigate and then he went on a merchant raid which he had the bad fortune of loosing, ie. one of his hit locations was destroyed.

If I understand the rules correctly, you can't raid when one (or more) of your hit-locations are destroyed and you need 2 gold to make repair of one hit point. Seems like your options are almost none in this case (I think selling the frigate to get a sloop might be possible, but what if this happens when you own a sloop)? Or perhaps you must retire and start again?

Gudjon

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Rule HELP!!!!

$
0
0

by Gamer John

Player A who is currently a merchant scouts for merchant player who's captain is Sikuma. He is successful. Sikuma makes him reroll. He is not sucessful the second time. Is player A now a pirate?? HELP We have an ongoing gamed stalled for 1/2 hour while they argue

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Scouting NPC, Bounty, and a (german) Glory Card

$
0
0

by Morcars Jester

I'm looking for some clarifications regarding the following situation:

I'm playing Yu Quan, an english captain, and I'm a pirate by now, having a dutch and a spanish bounty on my head.
It's a three players game, and I'm the last one before a new turn begins.

Now, I ended my last action in the Sea-Zone of Old Providence. At the end of the turn, an english frigate moved into the same sea-zone because of the event card drawn at the beginning of that turn.
Now, in the next round, when I start my turn, said frigate is scouting for me, as I am a pirate (and there are no other pirates close), but they don't spot me. Fine with me, as I don't want any trouble with my own nation, so I'm moving to port with my first action.
My second action is to conduct some port actions, like repairing, hiring crew, and so on...
With my third action, I decide to leave port again, so I move into Old Providence's sea-zone again.
Now my question is: Does this mean the english frigate is scouting for me again, or doesn't she (because technically, I never left the same sea-zone this round)?

We decided she may scout for me a second time, and this time, she got lucky and spotted my galleon.
Which brings me to my second question: If I fight the battle and win, do I get an english bounty then? I guess so, but I didn't find anything in the rules regarding this situation...
And what if I successfully flee that battle? Do I still get an english bounty on my head (because technically I was engaged in a battle with an english naval ship anyways)?

Now, my last question, totally unrelated to the situation described above, regarding a Glory Card. As I own the german version of this game, I'm not quite sure what it's english title is, the german one is 'Leichte Beute', loosly translated 'easy prey', or maybe 'easy pickings'...
Does this card mean I win the merchant raid automatically ('Der Anblick Deiner Totenkopfflagge alleine reicht vielleicht aus, dass er sich ergibt') and additionally roll some dice to see if I can ignore some hits, or do I just get to roll those dice, but the merchant might still be able to flee if he's got enough flight symbols?

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Retiring Captains??

$
0
0

by monchichi

So question might have been answered already but I can;t find it. If you retire it says that you lose all your cards. Does this include all of your glory cards? It says you lose your cards, but I am assuming that is the cards on your player mat.

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Missions, who pays bounty and port royal free pass?

$
0
0

by ecominguez

Understanding the rules... 3 new questions I have about rules...

1) when I fail to achieve a mission (not to take/claim it), will I have a second chance next turn? Or The mission have to be discarded after is failed? the rules/mission card doesn't say (or I didn't find it) discard after the fail

2) if I defeat a pirat with bounty of spain, who should pay? I understand from the rules that the spanish nation should, but... Who is this nation if more than one player is from spain, or if there is no spanish player?

3) the manual says " in port royal, that is infested of pirates, you can port and do port activities after paying a fee or after succeeding an Influence roll" but the board says almost the same, but adds "with English bounty" so.... If I am a pirate but with an spanish bounty over my head... Which rule should i follow? The manual rule or the board one?

Thanks a lot.
Eduardo

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Fleeing

$
0
0

by monchichi

So we had an interesting situation occur that we think we sorted but in a strange way doesn't seem right.

Player A Shoots using 2 dice and rolls one skull. Player B choose to Flee and rolls two Skulls. After a long discussion we came to the conclusion that even since player B "won" the seaman ship, since player A got one they got to fire and thus B couldn't flee. Next A tried to board and B tried to Flee again. Both had unsuccessful rolls. We read this as Player B didn't get a success so this they couldn't flee.

Does this all sound right??

It would seem in a strange way that in the first battle that since player B "won" the seamanship battle that they should have taken damage but escaped.

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Port actions

$
0
0

by urweak

I just played my first game last night and have a few questions.

At the start of the game, do all players start in their home ports?

If you are at sea on that start of your turn, go into port for one action, do you need to pay another action to make port actions?

If you start your turn in port, do you have to pay an action to do port actions?
Viewing all 369 articles
Browse latest View live


<script src="https://jsc.adskeeper.com/r/s/rssing.com.1596347.js" async> </script>