Quantcast
Channel: Merchants & Marauders | Rules | BoardGameGeek
Viewing all articles
Browse latest Browse all 369

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: scout/port action for rumors

$
0
0

by Lightship

Greetings,

Quick question, which I admit I haven't been able to parse out from reading the rules: when you are making an Influence or Scouting roll to resolve a Rumor, does that take up an entire action by itself?

The rules say (page 9): "Rumors typically require you to got to a specific port or Sea-Zone and roll either Influence or Scouting during a "port" or "scout" action." So, is the roll to resolve the rumor incidental to the rest of that action?

(1) If you resolve the rumor with a Scouting roll on a Scout action, can you also be Scouting a ship/merchant in that same action? If so, is that a second roll as part of the same action? Or does resolving the rumor consume the entire action?

(2) If you resolve a rumor with an Influence roll during a Port action, can you then perform all the rest of the usual Port activities? Or does resolving the Rumor require a Port action of its own? and if so can it then be followed by a second port action in the same port?

From my reading around, it appears that the answers are (1) No; the Scouting role to resolve the Rumor takes the whole action -- as would make thematic sense; and (2) Yes; the Influence roll to resolve the Rumor would be one of the Port activities within a normal Port action -- as also makes thematic sense and seems to fit better with some of the card outcomes, though it is sort of asymmetric with (1). Anyway, I am grateful for whatever the expert opinion can tell me; thanks.

Viewing all articles
Browse latest Browse all 369