Quantcast
Channel: Merchants & Marauders | Rules | BoardGameGeek
Viewing all articles
Browse latest Browse all 369

Thread: Merchants & Marauders:: Rules:: Naval Combat Question

$
0
0

by Guthwine3

Still getting my head around the minutiae of combat and have a question about how to correctly resolve the following situation (I'm playing the game solo):

In the waters outside of Bridgetown, my pirate sloop has been beset by a Dutch NPC Naval Frigate. After the first two rounds of combat, I am getting pounded.

It is the beginning of the third round of battle and I choose 'Flee' during the Declaration phase. Admiral Grave, of course, chooses to 'Shoot.' We roll Seamanship and I come up with a '1', a '1' and a success. He rolls the exact same results (a pair of ones and a skull).

Is this a 'tie' causing us to progress to the next round? Or does his single success nullify my results (because I chose the 'flee' option, which only works if he rolls zero successes) and thereby allow him to fire a cannon or cannons?

Further confused by the line in the rulebook on page 14 that reads:

"Resolve ties by adding up the numbers on the dice that did not come up as successes. If still tied, then proceed to the next round (after inflicting cannon hits, if any)."

Would Grave inflict cannon hit(s) in this 'tie' situation?

Thanks in advance for your help! I've never had this much fun being sunk!

Viewing all articles
Browse latest Browse all 369


<script src="https://jsc.adskeeper.com/r/s/rssing.com.1596347.js" async> </script>